Digital Cinema @ Berlinale


3sat nano: Digital Cinema @ Berlinale
EMC @ Berlinale 2014

TAGS //

Partner news, Clips

Digital Cinema @ Berlinale 2014

Berlinale goes digital

The Berlinale is getting bigger and bigger and, at the same time, the number of films and film screenings is increasing. Under these circumstances the film distribution during the festival has become a major challenge for the Berlinale. Innovations in the digital cinema world have made it possible for the festival to try out different ways and measures of film distribution.

In 2014, all of the digital projections were shown in the digital cinema format (DCP), a few of them had to be transformed into this format in advance. Over 95% of the 2,500 film screenings at both the festival and the European Film Market were digital.
As the need of storage capacity is constantly growing, Berlinale uses colocation spaces in order to operate a high-performance storage system. Since 2014, the Berlinale stores all the film data centrally with a storage capacity of 400 TB.

The digital partners Colt, EMC, Barco, Dolby, Doremi, DVS and VIDI support the Berlinale in this process of digitisation. 

Please find more information concerning digital cinema at Berlinale in the official press release (see right side bar) as well as in the case study of our digital cinema partner EMC (see above).

Digital Cinema @ Berlinale


3sat nano: Digital Cinema @ Berlinale
EMC @ Berlinale 2014

TAGS //

Partner News, Clips

Digital Cinema @ Berlinale 2014

Berlinale goes digital

Die Berlinale wächst und mit ihr die Anzahl der Filme und Filmvorführungen. Mit diesem Wachstum wird vor allem die Filmdistribution während des Festivals zu einer immer größeren Herausforderung. Innovation und Fortschritt in der digitalen Welt ermöglichen Filmfestivals, wie der Berlinale, in dieser Hinsicht neue Wege zu gehen. 

So wurden 2014 auf der Berlinale erstmals alle digitalen Vorführungen im Digital Cinema Format (DCP) gezeigt und dafür bei Bedarf vorab in dieses Format gewandelt. Der digitale Anteil der rund 2.500 Filmvorführungen, die während des Festivals und auf dem European Film Market durchgeführt werden, lag damit bei über 95%. 

Aufgrund des stetig ansteigenden Speicherkapazitätsbedarfs nutzt die Berlinale seit 2014 nun auch Colocation-Flächen, um dort einen Hochleistungsspeicher betreiben zu können. Zur zentralen Speicherung aller Filmdaten wird ein besonderer Isilon Storage Cluster mit insgesamt 400 TB Speicherkapazität genutzt. 

Unterstützt wird die Berlinale bei diesem Prozess der Digitalisierung von ihren Digital Cinema-Partnern Colt, EMC, Barco, Dolby, Doremi, DVS und VIDI.

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Thema finden Sie in der offiziellen Pressemitteilung, den Presseberichten (beides s. rechte Seitenleiste) und auch in der Case Study unseres Digital Cinema Partners EMC bzw. im Beitrag von 3sat nano (s. Galerie oben).